Letting women speak

I found this post on Medium by my friend/acquaintance (and co-working visionary) Tony Bacigalupo very inspiring, thoughtful, and compassionate. I’ve been in so many situations where the men in the room interrupted and talked over me until I finally gave up. It’s heartening to know there are men becoming aware of this dynamic, and that change is possible.

A super simple thing you can do to support the feminine voice

In my ongoing efforts to become a More Decent Man, I’m practicing learning how to be more respectful and supportive of the feminine.

One practice I’ve been using, with my partner Amy’s support and gentle education, has been focused on noticing the social dynamics in a conversation and being sensitive to who’s speaking up and how.

In a mixed-gender conversation, it’s really, really easy for dudes to take over.

Read more…

Leave a Reply

